Mullin, Lankford Congratulate OU Softball on Three Time National Championship

U.S. Senator Markwayne Mullin (R-OK) today along with Senator James Lankford (R-OK) announced a resolution to congratulate OU’s softball team on its third consecutive NCAA Division I national championship in the 2023 Women’s College World Series passed the Senate. This makes it the school’s seventh national title overall. 

“Congratulations to the University of Oklahoma’s women’s softball team on their well-deserved College World Series win! It’s truly awe-inspiring and a testament to the unwavering dedication and hard work exhibited by every member of the team, coaches, and staff,” said Sen. Mullin. “Moreover, I was deeply moved by the video of players Grace Lyons, Jayda Coleman, and Alyssa Brito expressing the importance of joy from the Lord and the significance of faith in the love of the game. This team’s faith, hard-work, and talent truly exemplify the Oklahoma Standard. The entire state is incredibly proud of you!”

“University of Oklahoma’s Women’s Softball team continues to show the state and nation what leadership on and off the field looks like,” said Sen. Lankford. “Our state is proud of your continued success on the field and the role models you are off the field. Today, the US Senate officially congratulates each member of the team on the third consecutive national NCAA Women’s College World Series title. We also recognize the exemplary standard that has been set by Coach Patty Gasso and staff. We can’t wait to see how you continue to your champion mindset on and off the field. Eyes up!”

Read the resolution here.