Mullin, Colleagues Introduce Permanent Ban on Taxpayer Funding for Abortions

U.S. Senator Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), along with 46 other senators, introduced the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act. This legislation would establish a permanent prohibition on federal funding for abortion, replacing the current restrictions with a single, government-wide standard.

“Taxpayer dollars should never be used to fund abortions. Period. This legislation will eliminate any uncertainty found within the current patchwork of regulations and replace it with a uniform standard. The fight for life is too important to allow any room for misinterpretation or error,” Mullin said.

For over 40 years, an inconsistent and haphazard set of policies have regulated federal funding for abortion. This legislation would make permanent the restrictions on funding for elective abortion and elective abortion coverage, including the Hyde Amendment, which currently rely on yearly approval. It would also eliminate Obamacare’s taxpayer subsidies for elective abortion coverage on the Affordable Care Act exchanges through refundable tax credits.

Mullin was joined by 46 other senators, including Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., Senate Minority Whip John Thune, R-S.D., and Senators John Barrasso, R-Wyo., Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., John Boozman, R-Ark., Mike Braun, R-Ind., Katie Britt, R-Ala., Ted Budd, R-N.C., Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., Bill Cassidy, R-La., John Cornyn, R-Texas, Tom Cotton, R-Ark., Kevin Cramer, R-N.D., Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, Ted Cruz, R-Texas, Steve Daines, R-Mont., Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, Deb Fischer, R-Neb., Lindsey Graham, R-S.C., Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, Bill Hagerty, R-Tenn., Josh Hawley, R-Mo., John Hoeven, R-N.D., Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Miss., Ron Johnson, R-Wis., John Kennedy, R-La., James Lankford, R-Okla., Mike Lee, R-Utah, Cynthia Lummis, R-Wyo., Roger Marshall, R-Kan., Jerry Moran, R-Kan., Rand Paul, R-Ky., Pete Ricketts, R-Neb., James Risch, R-Idaho, Mitt Romney, R-Utah, Mike Rounds, R-S.D., Marco Rubio, R-Fla., Eric Schmitt, R-Mo., Rick Scott, R-Fla., Tim Scott, R-S.C., Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, Thom Tillis, R-N.C., Tommy Tuberville, R-Ala., J.D. Vance, R-Ohio, Roger Wicker, R-Miss), and Todd Young, R-Ind.

The full text of the bill can be found here.